Your #1 Source for Drag Racing News and Results

16 Championships between three NHRA Lucas Oil Sportsman Drivers

in Breaking News/NHRA by

(Above) The 28 NHRA Summit Racing Series divisional champions — four from each of the seven divisions — were feted at a special banquet Thursday night at the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum presented by the Automobile Club of Southern California.

NHRA President Tom Compton (left) welcomed them to Pomona, where they’ll face off in eliminations during the Auto Club NHRA Finals to determine national champions in the Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman, and Motorcycle classes.

Summit-backed NHRA Mello Yello racers Jason Line, Greg Anderson, Tim Wilkerson, Andrew Hines, and Eddie Krawiec congratulated the champs and wished them well this weekend.

All of the NHRA Lucas Oil Sportsman championships have been decided, but many of the champs are still competing in Pomona. This trio of photos represents 16 world championships.

(Above) David Rampy, right, with crew chief Barry Davis won the Comp championship; it’s his fourth title.

(Right) Peter Biondo, right, with car owner Phil Monteith, collected his sixth overall championship and fourth in Super Stock.

All of the champs will be feted Monday night at the Lucas Oil Awards Ceremony.

(Below) Edmond Richardson won his fifth title and his third in Super Comp.

Latest from Breaking News

Go to Top