Past and Present Champions Crowned at Record Setting 20th Anniversary CARS Million Dollar Race; Complete Weekend Coverage


millionwinnerCMontgomery, AL – The Cars Protection Plus Million Dollar Race celebrated its 20th Anniversary at Montgomery Raceway Park and the historic race broke records in both attendance and online views via MotorManiaTV’s Live Feed. This event marked the largest sportsman race and biggest paying drag race in history, with over 623 entries and 125,000 unique views online.

The main event held on Saturday was also the largest Million in history with 350 entries. As another way of saying thank you, Folk Promotions pulled one random free tech card from a list of drivers not entered into the million which brought the official car count to 351. This placed the payout in a different bracket, increasing the purse by $40,000. Robert Vogler from Winston-Salem, NC was the lucky winner of the drawing.

past winners

During the pre-Million ceremony, the past 19 Million Dollar Race winners were recognized and awarded crystal trophies. The list includes T.J. Tracy, George Tamasi Sr, Troy Williams Jr, Sherman Adcock Jr, Stephen Hughes, Ed Richardson, Joel Reynolds, Johnny Labbous, Gary Williams (twice), Jeff Rucks, Greg Sesti, Dave Triplett, Ron Lane, Larry Strickland, Shane Carr, Ray Miller III, Kenny Underwood, and Rodney Phagan. One man by the name of Nathan Martin from Ft. Worth, TX joined this prestigious list of winners after marching ten rounds of competition on Saturday to win the 2015 Million Dollar Race. Martin defeated Ed Niemiec of Chicago, IL in the final round.
Travis Barnette, Cole Cousins, and Luke Bogacki highlighted the Triple 25’s winner circle victories. Barnett defeated Greg Roberts in the final round of Thursday’s race and Cole Cousins defeated Lane Dicken in Friday’s Triple 25K final.



bogackiSunday’s results were a little different as mother-nature dominated the final day. Rain forced officials to cancel the race with only three drivers remaining; Luke Bogacki, Josh Luedke, and Hank Wilhelm. The three decided to split the purse equally and the memorabilia that was awarded came down to a coin toss. Bogacki won the toss and the winner circle celebration was held in the tower.

The Million Dollar Race also featured the VIP Club, a membership that allows anyone to win elite prizes throughout the weekend, including the grand prize, a dragster chassis. Event attendance is not required. Mark Piper of Hancock Maine won the grand prize and Hayden Smith, Brookwood, AL, won the drawing for the customized Overkill Motorsports golf-cart.

The long distance award went to Chad Axford who made the trip from Las Vegas, NV. Axford took home a Riggeals Performance Fiberglass hood scoop. Tucker Kay won the youngest driver award and won a crystal plaque and California Custom Car Cover. Johnny Holley won the Folk Race Cars $500 cash bounty after taking out last year’s Million Dollar Race winner, Rodney Phagan. Richard Dukes won the Brando’s Custom Paint Best Appearing award with his beautiful 1967 Nova.

The weekend warrior award went to Josh Ludeke for going the most rounds over the weekend. Ludeke won a set of Lindsay Racing Products custom wheels.  Laramie Reid won a set of Brodix Cylinder heads for the only perfect run of the weekend.

All other VIP winners that were awarded throughout the weekend can be found on

Folk Promtions said “we can’t thank our racers, fans, VIP club members, online viewers, and sponsors enough for making the 20th Anniversary of the CARS Million Dollar Race the success that it was. Thanks Montgomery Raceway Park for hosting the event and the track personnel for their great work throughout the weekend.”

“Twenty Million Dollar Race winners have been crowned throughout the existence of this event. We are excited to see the next twenty years of Million Dollar Race winners. Congratulations, Nathan Martin, on making history and joining the list of winners.”

“We are excited to see the next 20 years of winners at the CARS Protection Plus Million Dollar Race.”
2016 will mark the 21st Anniversary of the CARS Million Dollar Race and the return of the Lucas Oil Mini-Million. Details, including dates for both events, will be released in the near future.